swim. love. travel.

my life daily

a dreamer out of the ordinary

There are two types of people in this world. There are people who like a routine lifestyle and there are people who like spontaneity in their lives. I would say I’m both.

I don’t hate routine. In fact, I actually enjoy the safety and security of knowing what’s going to go on in my day. I like to follow a structured schedule and I welcome the mundane lifestyle. There’s nothing better than a to-do list.

Nevertheless, there is only so much I can take. After months of continually waking up, going to school, attending the same classes, finishing up work, and finally going to sleep, it gets old. It gets boring. There comes a point when I can’t stand this lackluster life of mine.

That’s when I start to dream.

I start to wander into my own little world inside my head. I separate myself. I isolate myself. I welcome isolation, in fact. I wouldn’t say I start to daydream. I still pay attention in all my classes. But, once I go home, instead of sticking to my promises of finishing up my schoolwork, I start to lie down, close my eyes, and let my imagination take me away. I dream of things that probably will never happen in real life – various scenarios, situations, and predicaments. I imagine myself living in different worlds. I dream of anything that will add a more exciting aspect into the normalcy of my life.

Fantasy books? I love them. My favourite series would have to be The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I would love to live on Middle Earth. There are different creatures, various journeys to venture through, and many adventures to embark upon. I would give up my precious bed for a chance to meet Gandalf the Grey – or should I say, after the Two Towers – Gandalf the White. And we all know that nobody would enjoy giving up their bed. Star Wars is definitely a close second. I am a huge Star Wars fan and I am oh, so proud of it.

In my bed, that’s where I do most of my dreaming. I love sleep so much, in fact, that I fall asleep right away – quite instantaneously. My dreams are vivid. Sometimes they involve fantasies. Sometimes they involve improvements of the life I’m already living. Perhaps I got a new dog. Perhaps I got the job I always wanted – a promotion to head guard at the pool, maybe. Yeah, like that will ever happen in real life.

In fact, like anything I ever dream of will happen in real life. That’s the downside of dreams. It’s a temporary escape from routine – from reality. In their end, your dreams always end, and you’re back to where you left off – finishing up question #16 on page 240 of your math textbook.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

