swim. love. travel.

my life daily

across the universe

It all started when I listened to that Beatles song “Across the Universe.” John Lennon’s deep lyrics and mellow, melodious repetition of the line, “Nothing’s gonna change my world…” had my head in a daze. I repeated it over and over again with that same sense of pride of how amazing my life was. Without a second thought, I dubbed this song as one of my favourite songs. Little did I know how quickly it would turn into such an omen.

I’m extremely superstitious. I don’t mean any harm to the song itself. I respect the Beatles. In fact, they’re my favourite band. This song has such a symbolic meaning for me…so much that it has turned into a sort of jinx.

Have you ever experienced your world just…falling apart? And it seems to only happen to you but no one else around you? It sucks. And it started to happen to me the very few days after I started listening to that song. “Nothing’s gonna change my world?” Yeah, right. My world was changing fast. In fact, it’s changing right now as I type this.

It’s hard to escape when you have such serious matters to deal with in your reality. In your life. My world is falling apart. I have no glue to stick everything back together. School is going down the drain. How is it possible to have a high 90% average only to drop nearly 10% lower than that? Impossible.

I’m shocked. I’m just wondering when this whirlwind will stop. People are turning against me. School has turned against me. Teachers have turned against me. My family is falling apart. My friends are separating. What do to next? All I have left is music.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

